Key to Cayman: Sink or Swim

Blogging is like a bug. If that makes you think of getting sick, the analogy works; you catch the bug and then at its will. If if makes you think of insects, the word play still applies; with the blogging bug one can not ignore the pestering to report and share the interesting moments of one’s life. It looks like my sister Kerry has caught the bug. I couldn’t be more excited! The Key to Cayman, how does that sound? With two posts, she’s a legit contributor. Enjoy her story of island life, just a little more south.

Last weekend was the picturesque “island living” student weekend. Basically for one weekend I do what everyone thinks I am doing going to school on an island, go to the beach and party. But in reality it is a whole lot of sitting, sweating and stressing.

Anyway, a surprise guest showed up on island, she might also be the hottest member of the Coast Guard (my sister Tara is the running as well) Bri from Miami. She was in town on her way to Belize on her big boat. The coolest way to visit me by the way is via boat (screw customs and immigration, lines are poor people…I kid but I’ve always wanted to say that). I like to think that she came because she heard that the VBMA (Veterinary Business Management Association) was hosting its first annual beer pong tournament. And guess who was in charge? ME (the president).

Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 4.21.59 PM

The Winning Team: The Designated Drinkers

I was able to get the local beer company on the island to sponsor the event and it was a huge hit. There were 14 teams of two and everyone had carefully crafted team names ,which were oh so original. Some of my favorites included: Bigjimny, Mawd Cow Disease and Rush Hour (it was a team of one black guy and one Asian guy) very creative. Anyway, after a two hour nail bitter, not only for the person in charge of running the bracket but the two finial teams dueled it out for the grand prize of $140 Cayman Island dollars. The club got to keep the remaining portion. It was a lot of fun and we got to really get to know each other on a very drunk level of play.

Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 4.22.41 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 4.22.54 PMAnyway, the next morning I arose out of bed with a pounding headache and the sense of “I think I have something important to do today” and I did. I had signed up to swim the Cayman Islands Flower 1 mile Sea Swim. All my training (or lack there of) had come down to this. The swim starts at the Ritz Carlton on Seven Mile Beach and goes to Royal Palms Beach club one mile down. The race attracts swimmers from all over the island and internationally to come compete in one of the world’s largest open water sea swim event. There were over 900 competitors in the race. The start of the race was a bit jumbled but as soon as I caught my stroke things were better and I finished in just under 38 minutes. For my lack of training and wardrobe malfunctions (my bikini bottoms kept failing off) I was very happy with my performance. Pushing myself over the final six months on island is my next step.Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 4.23.04 PM

All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think, we become. Think about it.

Leave a Reply

