Mead Leads: Block Island Times

I’ve spent under a week here on the island and I have already accomplished one of the items from my Master Key Bucket List. I thought #5 Front Page Article for the Block Island Times would a lot longer. I was floored when the paper was delivered while I was at work and I found my piece on the front page.

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 9.18.10 AM

Let me back track a little. Monday morning as I sat at Topside, I chatted with a girl who mentioned how I should write for the paper after I told her about my interests in journalism. ‘l will blame the rain for inspiring me to be productive. The Block Island Times was right across the street so I popped over and introduced myself. After sitting down with the editor, talking about my experiences in writing (which I feel are pretty limited, but didn’t tell him that) and pulling up my blog here, I was offered an internship for the summer.

I think it’s pretty ironic how I stressed and stressed over choosing a job where I could make money over a summer internship at home, and now I was able to score the best of both within hours of arriving on Block Island. See this place is awesome.

My assignments will vary. My editor explained that I could write my own pieces or take the assignments from the office. My first week’s article “Block Island Bonnaroo” ran on Friday, to my surprise on the front page! Check off #5.

The music festival starts next Tuesday and features 48 bands over the course of 6 nights (stay tuned for posts on my attendance). I interviewed the owner of Captain Nick’s, where the festival is being held, for the piece. It felt like real journalism (because it was, I have to remind myself) unlike a lot of the other writings I have done before. Take a read.

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 9.21.57 AM

I will continue to share my featured articles here on the blog and the places I find myself seeking out more. Next week I am working on a piece about Airbnbs on the island. I have been in contact with some hosts and hopefully will be able to put together a newsworthy piece. I will have to resign and know that every article might not be on the front page, but they can still be important nonetheless.

3 thoughts on “Mead Leads: Block Island Times”

  1. As being a wei-ewrlttln short article We came across a few weeks ago! It really is remarkable of which writers who are not kin belonging to the serious groups will compose as design and style.

    Like

  2. 138 Posted by 71 on 10May 30, 2012 at 1b1:03 pm 40 16aI think one factor that is really important is ‘Communicating with commentors’. After the recent updates the commentors have really become important, if you can engage them for a conversation, you are going to have an unending traffic to your blog and posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

